Anahata - Heart Chakra


Hello and welcome to this, the fourth in our series of 7 posts on the 7 main Chakras. This series will cover each Chakra one by one. Each post follows the same structure and can work as a reference as well as a learning resource.

This post will cover the Heart Chakra, or Anahata in Sanskrit.

Color - Leafs - Element

The Heart Chakra is associated with the color green, is symbolized by a 12 leafed lotus, and is associated with the air element.

Overview of this Chakra

The Heart Chakra, or Anahata, is the fourth of the 7 main Chakras, from the bottom up. It is located close to the heart and brings together opposing forces, or energies. It enables us to accept both sides of ourselves, as well as those parts which we deem "darker". These often unwanted parts are referred to as our shadow-self.

As the Anahata deals with bringing opposing energies into balance, for example, the male and the female, it can be said to be responsible for love, joy and compassion, as well as sorrow, sadness and lust.

In reality, these emotions, as with any opposing force, are not separate, and in fact two sides of the same coin. For example, take the deepest sorrow and deepest joy. Despite surface appearances, these feelings coexist and cannot be separated from one another. They both stem from the universal love that dwells deep within us, a love that is at the root of all things.

We cannot experience joy unless we care for something deeply, and value it very much. Just the same, we cannot feel sorrow unless we care for something deeply and value it highly. Through this understanding, we can start to break down ideas of duality, of separation, and begin to see how love truly exists, a oneness with all things.

The Anahata's association with air is linked to our sense of touch, and motions with the hand. When we are expressing from our heart, perhaps through dance, or connecting with what we are saying, you will feel the hand move and flow. In deep states of meditation or ritual, you may have seen or experienced this. Knowing how to move the hand to best express your true self in that moment. A great example of this are Buddhist pujas and ceremonies, if you have ever seen this, you will notice how the experienced monks move their hands in a confident, calm and expressive manner.

One important thing to note with the Anahata, is that it is the first in the chain of the 7 main Chakras to begin moving beyond the material world and the binding of karma. That is to say that from the Anahata, decisions come from the 'heart', with guidance and intuition from our higher selves, as opposed to unfulfilled desires, cravings, aversions or attachments of our 'lower' nature.


As mentioned, the Anahata, or Heart Chakra, is responsible for the unification of all parts of ourselves. So when our Anahata is in balance we can expect to be more aware of our full self, integrating both light and dark elements in harmony and balance.

When Overactive

When this Chakra is overactive some, or many of the following may occur.

  • Overly possessive of people and things.

  • Prone to jealousy

  • Manipulative

  • Conditional love, that is to say, we love based on what we receive, rather than from selfless giving.

  • Giving more, but at the same time expecting more in return

  • Emotional exhaustion, due to overactive or excessive levels of empathy(i.e absorbing the dark traits from those around us)

  • Melodramatic, overly emotional, or over exaggeration

  • Overly Critical

  • Poor at maintaining boundaries and so end up letting the wrong people into your life

When Under-active

When this Chakra is under-active some, or many of the following may occur.

  • Feeling unworthy

  • Commitment issues, perhaps running away from relationships

  • Keeping a distance between ones self and others

  • Paralyzed by past hurts and heartbreaks

  • Terrified of rejection

  • Non-empathic

  • Paranoia

  • Lack of discipline

  • Fear of letting go

  • Fear of freedom

  • Overly antisocial

  • Sadness relating to feelings of loneliness or isolation

  • Seeking sympathy, perhaps from ones self or others

Physical issues associated with this Chakra

Some common physical issues when this Chakra is imbalanced are:

  • Heart, or cardiovascular issues, such as high/low blood pressure and poor circulation

  • Lung and respiratory or breathing problems

  • A lowered or weak immune system (prone to allergies, colds, flues etc)

These can be any conditions or issues in these areas

How to balance

As with all the Chakras, we can do a variety of things to balance them.

In the case of Anahata, the following may help.


  • Leafy greens

  • Broccoli

  • Cucumber

  • Peas

  • Avocado

  • Green Apples

  • Spirulina

  • Chlorella

  • Wheat Grass

  • Green tea

  • Coriander


  • Rose water


  • 'YAM' mantra or bijamantra (associated with the Anahata)

  • 'MAH' mantra (a call to connect with loving people)


  • Rose Quartz

  • Jade


  • Being alone in nature

  • Practicing forgiveness


  • Bhakti yoga (chanting)


As you can see, the heart Chakra is a wonderful Chakra. Working with the heart Chakra can unlock within us the power of total acceptance. This means fully integrating all parts of ourselves, even those which we fear to accept or may be ignoring or ignorant to.

I wish you a long and happy life, and may you find peace, balance and harmony in all your thoughts, acts and deeds.

Thank you for reading.

May you be happy.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All